Art Institute of Chicago

Of the many joys of signing a check for $17,000 to the University of Chicago is free admission to the Art Institute of Chicago.

Vater Staat, 2010 by German born artist Thomas Schutte

Sadly, this man had to give both arms to secure his son’s education and complimentary admission.  The title translates as “Father State” and towering over the viewer the statue speaks to the monumental power of totalitarian rule, but the cloak-enshrouded arms suggest impotency.

For the record, this is what home furnishings are supposed to look like….  Okay, I’m not wild about the still-life, but I’d live with it if the museum wished to de-acquisition the pair.

In four hours I was able to enjoy George Seurat’s A Sunday on La Grande Jatte (1884), Van Gogh’s The Bedroom, Hopper’s Nighthawks, Grant Wood’s American Gothic, a whole raft of works by Salvador Dali and Piet Mondrian, and had my soul pulled out through my navel by Ivan Albright’s That Which I Should Have Done I Did Not Do (The Door).  A Saturday morning well spent–now if I can just get my soul back.

Leave a Reply

